episode seven

Jack of all trades part five

“Captains log,it seams that my life is coming full circle. Several years ago I lost a friend and colegue captain Jean luc Picard.back then I spoke to his brother . now once again we are coming face to face. ”
“I am not sure witch part of this mission I am dreading more. Facing the asana fleet or facing colony governor Robert Picard ”
In the cave,Robert headed into the light. Robert looked Jean luc over.they had only met once. Both had left a lasting impression on the orther. ”
Jack looked over Robert.he looked older.it was the same man. “Governor Picard! It has been a long time?” “Jack crusher said. “It has captain. I see you have been promoted. “The governor  observed. “Yes I have”Jack said.
Jack found it very uncomfortable.  He got where he was because of Jean Luc’s death.  When Jean luc Died,Jack was given command of the u.s.s stargazer.   Then after the. Stargazer was lost and presumed destroyed , despite a. Brief sebatical. From. Starship command.,Jack. Became. Prominent on the short list of potential commanders of a galaxy class starship. And eventually captain of the enterprise d.  Jack felt that had Picard lived he would. Probably. On the short list to command the enterprise.
“I wondered if you might be the one to show up. “Robert said. “We don’t take kindly to incursion into our space. We especially do not invasion. This seams like s job for the flagship of the federation. “Jack told him.
“The asana took no chances. They brought a heavily armed fleet. My people were discrete but thorough. “Robert Saud.
An aid gave the captain a pad. He took it. “This information will be very valuable thank you! Jack said.”I assume the fleet is near by! The governor said.
“It is. The plan us this. We want to want to wage a multi prong plan. Our plan is to bounce of the planets secondary Sun and. Cause a momentary emp and create a planet ride power outage. Hear Is the hard part. I need a planet ride revolt. I think you know what this means. I’m asking you a lot. I don’t have an estimate for casualties amoung the civilian population but I expect it to be very high. “Jack said.
Robert thought it over. As governor he was responsible for the health welfare and safety of the colonest. Before today it had been an easy task. Scrapes and brushes and calises we’re the major concern. Now he faces mass casualties.
” once the power is out and the revolt has begun,the fleet will move in. If all things we’re eaquil the federation fleet would easily overwhelm the asana occupation force and retake the planet. The problem is the wormholes .we have no defence yet from them. They could send In more ships!”Jack said.
“Why go to all this trouble? This is a farming colony in a remote region. “Lous said.
“We don’t know. It makes no seance I agree. Once we have secured the planet we Will make sure we get to the bottom of this. I know I am asking a lot. I need your support governor.we cannot hope to accomplish the mission without your help. “Jack said.
“I am a farmer. A vineyard grower. I never wanted to be a politician or sn administrator. I wanted a new challenge. Lois hear convinced me to go along with this crazy scheme. Now I am left with an awfull choice. Virtuel slavery or mass casualties. Most of the colonest have been with the project from it’s very inception. Some were friends of my one I knew sense my chimdhood. Others have become friends really family . sense we arrived I have seen kids become young adults marry and have kids of there own. This is home . we are a family. Now I will watch as citizens colegues friends family die. This is way beyond  everything I can handle. ” Robert said.
“I know that governor. Both these options are bad. I agree. We cannot ignore this. “Jack said.
“I know that captain. You Will have my support and the support of my people! You have sacred task captain. We are pledging everything. If this fails there is no where else for us to go. We are putting everything on the line. Do not let us down. “Robert said.
“I won’t. You have my word. “Jack said. “No offense but I will hold you to it. “Robert said.
After several strategy seasons and other discussions,the crew headed back to the scout craft.
Lous came out. Jean luc told the crew to head on. Jack went over to Lois.
“You will have to forgive Robert. People skills have never been his strong suit. “He said.”it is good to finally meat you ,Jean luc spoke highly of you!”Jack said.
“We got into a lot of trouble growing up. Nothing too serious. I do miss him. He spoke about you. It seemed you took my place out there!”Lous said .
“Jean luc was one if those people you never quite get over. If he were hear he would probably quote Shakespeare. Lois I know my responsibility. I know it is your people that will do most of the dying. I don’t look into that lightly. “Jack said.
“You don’t owe Jean luv anything. He did not consider his sacrifice a debt that had to be repaid. You don’t have to justify your life. I knew him like a brother. He would not ask that of you. You don’t have to cure the tarelien plaugue or negotiate peace between the Klingon and romulons. He would probably kick your but for thinking that way!” Lois said.
“He would. “Jack said. “I know you will come though for us. Not to pay some imaginary debt but because that us who you are. That is the man Jean luc knew you to be. That is the man I am fairly certain you are. “He said .
Jack said his goodbyes. He went back to the craft. He closed the hatch . “lift off Mr. Data !” Jack ordered. The craft left.
Capital city of Mitterrand
Goverment complex
“The federation fleet is Just on the other side. They have amassed everything from syidny class ,Robert,miranda,neba,new Orleans,excelsior and ambassador. “An aid said.
“There have been some odd emissions from the Sun’s. I believe that star fleet may be conducting renonisence missions perhaps even meeting with colony officIal. ” another commander said.
“Jack crusher! He is behind it!”kernel said. “The enterprise Is not involved in the fleet. “Another said. “Jack is hear. It is a destiny to confront each other. One of us will triumph,the other will be dead. “Keriek said.
“We must locate Robert picard and the orther  leaders. We need to have massive crackdown . “captain derex said.
“Not yet. Any crackdown will accelerate action by star fleet. We must be patienct. The battle will acur soon enough!” Keriek said.
“The cabinet and key m.p are insisting you return to asana prime. You are not a. Admiral any more. You are president ,emperor. You must return home!”Derek said.
“No ! I control my own destiny! I will not watch the battle from the home world. I did not seize control of the asana empire to hide in my office. I will lead our people to victory. Tell the cabinet ministers that I will return when the empire is secure. Not before. Remind them that most of them we’re back benches or so far at the bottom of civil service that 80 percent of our population had to die before they were In the line of sucesion. “Keriek said.
Keriek dismissed the advisors And commanders. They quickly left the office. “Why do you risk alienating your ministers and General staf. We need there support. “Jurome his chief of staf said.
“I am the chosen of the jurendra. I need no one but them. None of them are loyal to me or the empire. There loyalties are to the.ages.they would sell me out In a heart beat. They would sell out there families to save themselves. They have no love for me nor I for them. They see me as k see them a means to and end. Nothing more. There will come a time when it will come down to either them or me and I won’t hesitate to dispose of them before they dispose of me.the future does not belong to them. It does not even belong to me. It is the jurendra. “Keriek declared.
“Of course Excellency!” Jerom said.
U.s.s enterprise
Bridge
“I was beginning to worry!’bill said. “Not to worry number one ,I know what I am doing!”Jack said. “Of course sir. “Bill said .
“The colony is on bored. Mr. Data stand by the e.m. lt. Yar before we deploy it I need to send the message now using the code we agreed apon. “He said. “Understood!” she Said.
Later
Bridge
Everything is in place sir! ” Bill said. “Adres intercraft!”Jack ordered. “Your on sir!”yar said. “Attention all decks all divisions this is the captain. The mission of star fleet is one of peace and exploration. As a late friend of mine often reminded me star fleet is not a military organization. In s case of attacks we are empowered to defend ourselves and our protecorates. Today we put it all on the line. For the colony below it is everything. We can retreat they cannot . we don’t know how far the asana will go to hold on to the planet. We must assume that they will go scorched earth If they have to. End!”Jack said.
“Chanel closed!”yar reported. “Mr. Laforge take us out. Mr. Data procede!”Jack ordered.
End of

Standard

Leave a Reply

